New Mexico Concealed Carry Class information

New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Classes

Initial CHC Class (2 Day/15 hours): $90.00

Range Fee: +$6.00

Free Gun Rental - Ammunition purchased by student

2-Year CHC Refresher with Instructor: $30.00

4-Year CHC Renewal: $50.00

Range Fee: +$6.00

Refresher/Renewal courses are provided on the second day of every initial New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Class .  


2018 NM Concealed Handgun Carry Class Schedule

March 24-25, 2018 "FULL/Closed"
April 28-29, 2018
June 23-24, 2018
July 28-29, 2018
October 20-21,2018
November 10-11, 2018 

Location of Classes

Concealed Carry Training and Range Qualifications
Albuquerque (Shooting Range Park)
16001 Shooting Range Access Road NW
Albuquerque, NM 87120

The Shooting Range Park provides a safe location for citizens to enjoy shooting sports and learn the skills of using firearms for personal protection and hunting.

Active/Retired Military

The New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry License Process:

Help will be provided during class!

  1. Fill out your NM CHC application during class (2 Day/15 Hours).
  2. Fingerprints - Digital - $44.00/Civilian, $8.30/Military (Active or Retired)
  3. Provide two Release Forms - Notarized/Witnessed                  
  4. Handgun Qualification Scores - received in class        
  5. Original birth certificate, certified copy, or U.S. Passport
  6. MILITARY - Retired DD214 required plus all completed CHC Application documents listed   
  7. Take all required paperwork to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety SID Department with initial $56.00 application fee or $31.00 for renewal applications
  8. Wait 30-90 days to receive your permit in the mail  

Total out-of-pocket expenses for Initial Civilian CHC license: $196.00


Military - Active/Less than 20 years Retired:

No class required, No DPS fee and only $8.30 fingerprint fee

Military - Greater than 20 years Retired: 

CHC Class required, No DPS fee, and only $8.30 fingerprint fee
 

**You must complete a “CHC Refresher Course” two-years from the date of permit issued through DPS or by a Certified Instructor as required by the New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Act of 2003**

New Mexico Department of Public Safety - Concealed Carry Website (Click Here)

NM-Fingerprints

Digital Fingerprints Required

1. Register online with Gemalto Cogent (Obtain receipt)

2. Identify location to complete fingerprints (Bring receipt) 

https://cogentid.3m.com/nm/Maps/MapFrame.htm